Doctor of Plant Health Fellowship Opportunities

William J. Curtis Fellowship

$20,000 DPH Program Curtis Fellowships

image of Earle Raun

Multiple DPH Program Curtis Fellowships will be awarded to UNL Doctor of Plant Health (DPH) students with outstanding qualifications and interest in pursuing the DPH degree in any plant health related area (agriculture, horticulture, regulatory, etc.). These Fellowships will be competitively awarded to outstanding students who have been accepted into the DPH program. Selection will be based on student potential as measured by undergraduate performance, professional experience, and leadership qualities.

Fellowship awardees must be full-time students during the semesters they receive Fellowship funding.  The award is for $20,000 and can be received in one year (2 semesters at $10,000 per semester) or over two years (4 semesters at $5,000 per semester).

To apply for this fellowship, complete the admission application process as outlined in the admission instructions for the Doctor of Plant Health Program.

All students will be considered for one of these fellowships, if available, after they have been accepted into the DPH program. Contact Dr. Jeff Bradshaw (402-472-3345;, Program Director, with questions related to these and other opportunities for financial support.

image of Earle Raun

Earle Raun Fellowship

Dr. Earle Raun enjoyed a distinguished career in the areas of crop and pest management.  He became head of the University of Nebraksa–Lincoln Department of Entomology in 1966 and was key in taking integrated pest management from concept to use on farms in Nebraska and the region.

The Doctor of Plant Health program was Dr. Raun's dream.  The fellowship fund in his name represents a significant, long-term investment in the future success of both the Doctor of Plant Health program and the students of the program.

Each year Earle's wife, Georgia Raun is happy to present the award in memory of her late husband, who was so instrumental in the development and implementation of the Doctor of Health Program at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln, giving the award to deserving D.P.H. students to help further their professional careers.

Previous fellowship recipients are:
2013 - Kenneth Roché
2013 - Roger Yerdon
2014 - Dr. Christopher Borman (DPH graduate 2014)
2014 - Haley Oser
2015 - Salvador Ramirez, II
2015 - Kenneth Roché
2016 - Salvador Ramirez, II
2017 - Sarah Blecha and Christopher Wynn
2018 - Aaron Sedivy and Christopher Wynn
2019 - Lindsay Overmyer, Emily Stine, and Adam Striegel

Thank you for your support of the Earle S. Raun Fellowship